Zombie knitter

5 11 2007

I so feel like the title. Tori has taken to waking up about two hours after she gets put down at night, and won’t go back to sleep unless she can snuggle with me. This is hard for me, as I move a lot when I sleep. So baby comforting snuggling= no sleep for Mommy. This has been going on for a few weeks now, starting with her teething, then catching a cold/weather change, now moving from Mommy and Daddy’s room to the room she shares with Evalyn. I just need a few nights of solid sleep.

And because I have to get it out… Yesterday we went to breakfast at our favorite chain bakery. When we got there, there was a couple with two service dogs. The gentleman was in a wheel chair, which makes sense for that dog, but the wife seemed to be fine. We just kept the girls away from the dogs since they were working (they had vests that said “Do not pet me. I am working”). While we sat in the restaurant eating our food, the Husband notices a customer seems a bit upset about the wife with the dog. So the husband says that she might have some other condition like epilepsy, that the dog may be used for. So this guy goes on some rant that Maryland health code only allows seeing eye dogs into eating establishments. I was about to start talking about the Americans with Disabilities Act and explaining that any service animal is allowed. I just didn’t have the energy to really try and rationally discuss that the ADA trumps the “health code” he was talking about (it was probably really outdated information), so the Husband and I just let the guy go about the place ranting to management about the supposed violation. And now .

Not too much to report on the knitting and spinning front due to lack of sleep. I have been working as fast as I can on my test knit, and I’ve learned that I really like metal circulars (using Addi turbos, now) compared to the bamboo circulars that I had bought for the project as the yarn wasn’t moving smoothly enough on the bamboo for my liking. I also learned that I really should have just stuck with the Addi because I knit my gauge swatch with them, and the bamboo ones were a slightly larger size, totally messing up the first pattern repeat I had done.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

