Wyvern socks completed!

24 04 2007

I finished my Wyvern socks this morning.

Here are the tops:
blue wyvern socks

And the ribbed soles:
blue wyvern soles

Pattern: Wyvern socks by Marnie MacLean
Yarn: Louet Gems Baby Pearl in Baby Neptune
Needles: US 1 and US 2
Modifications: I did 15 total pattern repeats, instead of the 11 in the pattern. I also worked the short rows in the second sock differently. Instead of wrapping the stitches, I used the Japanese short row technique (I might have to write up/photograph my own tutorial for that…)

Today we took a quick trip to Crazy for Ewe to pick something out for my PRGE pal. I got to finally meet the shop’s owner, the lovely Ellen, who mentioned that she was thinking of opening a store in La Plata (!!!). The wyvern socks and the Jaywalkers (or at least the first one) went along for the ride.

And if you haven’t already, take a moment to take the swap poll. I’ve added it to the top of the side bar, as well as in my previous post. Just a little fyi, the pole will close on May 5th, the start of the Maryland Sheep and Wool Festival.

Actions

Information

3 responses

27 04 2007
Rebecca

I love Louet Gems Baby Pearl! Nice socks.

29 04 2007
hmbknitter

Great socks! I want to master those Japanese short rows too.

1 05 2007
Elspeth

Nice socks! I am so jealous you’re going to MDSW – I tried to get my DH to let me go but he has to work! Boo hoo!

Leave a Reply

